Australia: Climate emergency declaration voted down in New South Wales parliament

On 23 March 2022, Cate Faehrmann from the Greens put forward a motion that the New South Wales state government declare a climate emergency. The motion was voted down by 28 votes against (Labor, Liberals, Nationals) and only 4 votes for the motion.

Here is how Cate Faehrmann described it in a live Facebook video on 25 March 2022:

Here’s a summary as it was reported via Twitter posts by Eddie Lloyd: